Flat Rice Noodles in Egg Gravy (Char Hor Fun or Kong Fu Char)

Image

My buddies Hana and Su will attest to how madly in love I am over this dish. I’d at least order this in a restaurant for lunch at least once a week. Sometimes I have it 2 days in a row. I never got tired of it. And probably never ever will. How could I?? The eggy gravy is the most lustrous liquid that slides through the tip of the tongue and bursts into million explosions on my taste buds.

Anyway, that was when I was still back in Malaysia. Since then, it has been a little bit of a challenge finding my char hor fun here in Western Australia. Although there are a few decent Chinese/Malaysian restaurants around but the few that I tried didn’t succeed in pleasuring my taste buds. So here I am, with my wok and chopsticks…ready to plate up another one of my favourite dishes. Bring it on!

 Ingredients:

  •  1 packet of flat rice noodles or fresh hor fun
  • 12~15 prawns shells removed and deveined (you can leave the tail tip on)
  • 12~15 rings of squids
  • 4~5 fish cakes thinly sliced
  • 8~10 4cm chicken slices (If you like pork or beef, feel free to replace with your meat of choice. My husband says hor fun is not hor fun without pork *rolls eyes*)
  • 1 whole of garlic finely chopped (You can use just half actually…but I love garlic so much!)
  • 4 stalks of choy sum (or sawi) cut to 4cm lengths
  • ½ a carrot sliced thin (1cm thickness)
  • 1 cup of cabbage (no bigger than a 2x2cm squares)
  • 2~3 tbsp of corn flour (diluted in very little water)
  • 3 tbsp stir fry sauce or oyster sauce
  • 3 tbsp fish oil
  • 3 tbsp thick soy sauce
  • Soy sauce for taste
  • Ground white pepper for taste
  • 3 eggs

Image

My sauces…

Method:

  1. First, to prepare the noodles, rinse the noodles in water. If the noodles appear to be clung together, it’s a good idea to use boiling water to separate them. Do not try to break it up yourself as it will break into crumbly pieces.
  2. Use 1 clove of chopped garlic to flavour some oil on the pan. Stir fry the noodles in the oil with thick soy sauce and salty soy sauce. Once noodles is cooked, keep aside Image
  3. On a different wok, heat some oil and stir fry the balance of the chopped garlic, meat, prawns, squids and fish cake. Once the seafood is cooked, add in the carrots cabbage and add 3 (medium sized) bowls of water.
  4. Add the stir fry or oyster sauce and fish oil into this gravy till the vegetables are nicely cooked. Add the the choy sum and cook a for another minute
  5. Stir in the diluted corn flour to thicken the gravy. You only need the gravy to be slightly thickened. Add salt and white pepper for taste
  6. Break in 3 eggs into the gravy and stirring the gravy as you added the eggs. Turn off the flame immediately and now the gravy will be a thick eggy liquid
  7. Plate the earlier prepared noodles on a deep set plate and top it with generous ladleful of egg gravy like in the first picture. If you like extra spice, serve with chopped chilies (chili padi) in soy sauce.
4 thoughts on “Flat Rice Noodles in Egg Gravy (Char Hor Fun or Kong Fu Char)

  1. Ohhh bless you!! I am like you I absolutely love this and could eat it every day you describe it exactly as I would!! It is hard to find someone to cook it right in a chinese restaurant and im over the moon when i find one and we are in Victoria. Going to try to make this this evening! ! Yummy it is the best!

    • Hi Melissa, I’ve been MIA from the bloggers world. So, I’m sorry for the late reply. How did you go with your can hor fun? Hope your palattes were truly satisfied. Unlike me, I’m insatiable. Craving a bowl of this now. Yummmm

      • Oh my goodness i havent been back on this page since i left my last message until today as i have been really craving this so making this evening!! Its my favorite meal along with my own Roast Chicken! Cant wait for this tonight! Heading to our asian store shortly for my supplies!!

  2. Pingback: Ho Fun Recipe | dianahaydon

Leave a Reply

